Sunday, September 23, 2018

News Bar

  President to submit new proposals to United Nations    |  State Minister graces Dudley Senanayake lecture  

Home News & Events MOD News

State Minister attends 'ASSP' Opening Ceremony

State Minister attends 'ASSP' Opening Ceremony

[October 04 2017]


State Minister of Defence Hon. Ruwan Wijewardene attended the Opening Ceremony of the 08th Conference of the Association of SAARC Speakers and Parliamentarians (ASSP) at the Hilton Hotel in Colombo, today (04th October).

Gracing the ceremony as the chief guest, President Maithripala Sirisena declared open the conference while Prime Minister Hon. Ranil Wickremesinghe delivered the keynote address. The conference is being held in  Colombo to coincide with the 70th anniversary of the Parliament of Sri Lanka. A commemorative stamp was also issued during the ceremony.

The 08th ASSP conference, organized by the Parliament of Sri Lanka, brings together Speakers and Parliamentarians of SAARC member nations.

Speaker of the Parliament Hon. Karu Jayasuriya, Deputy Speaker, Ministers, Speakers and Parliamentarians of SAARC nations and distinguished guests were present at the occasion.

The Association of SAARC Speakers and Parliamentarians (ASSP) was set up in 1992 with the vision to promote friendship and understanding amongst the peoples of South Asia, promote co-ordination and exchange of information among the Parliaments and Parliamentarians of SAARC countries and provide a forum for exchange of ideas and information on parliamentary procedures and practices of the region.

The inaugural conference was held in India in 1995, followed by Pakistan in 1997, Bangladesh in 1999, Sri Lanka in 2006, India in 2011, Pakistan in 2012, and in Maldives in 2013.

| |   PRINT

<<< Useful Links >>>

Reproduction of  news items are permitted when used without any alterations to contents and the source.

| About Us | Publications | News & Events | Resources | Useful Links | Services | Defence Units |

2009 Ministry of Defence  - Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved

Comments and suggestions to : Web Editor